Great season for Thurrock Hockey Club

First published in Sport

THURROCK Hockey club has celebrated the end of its 107th season.

Leah Purser was voted club member of the season and awarded the Harrington Trophy by the club’s president Glenda Stephens BEM.

The mens’ first team player of the season was Steven Edwards. And the mens’ second team players of the season went to the whole team as Derek Staton wanted to recognise the fantastic team spirit over a difficult season.

The Men’s top goal scorer was judged to be Tommy Ing.

And the ladies’ first team player of the season was louise Parrot. The Ladies’ second team player of the season and top goal scorer was Sally Willett.

In the ladies third team category the team player of the season was Fay Tuffee. Special awards for continued outstanding service to the club were awarded to Neil Donovan.

The most improved male player was Aaron Saunders and most improved female player was Louisa Harrison. The donkey and toilet seat fun awards for the players who did the silliest things on and off the pitch went to Laura Fishleigh and Jak Taylor. The club plays thtroughout the summer and to join in contact them via Facebook or look them up on

Send us your news, pictures and videos

Most read stories

Local Info

Enter your postcode, town or place name

About cookies

We want you to enjoy your visit to our website. That's why we use cookies to enhance your experience. By staying on our website you agree to our use of cookies. Find out more about the cookies we use.

I agree