Billericay Town 1–0 Thurrock

(Robinson 57’)

From the AGP Arena

Isthmian Premier League

BILLERICAY Town will head into their table-topping clash against Dulwich Hamlet at the summit of the Isthmian Premier League following a narrow 1-0 victory over Thurrock.

Jake Robinson scored the only goal of the game 10 minutes into the second period.

Town were strong favourites to continue their recent form against a Fleet side who had also shown an upturn in form in recent weeks.

Matt Paine, in the team after his red card against Havant & Waterlooville had been overturned, had the first chance after three minutes. He sent his header goalwards but goalkeeper Ben McNamara was equal to his effort.

But Thurrock were the better team in the next 20 minutes. The visitors moved the ball nicely in midfield without creating an opportunity that troubled home stopper Alan Julian.

It was perhaps unsurprising that 36-goal Robinson created the best chance of the first 25 minutes. The forward picked up the ball in a wide left position and drove at goal, before cutting inside and sending a rising shot off the face of the crossbar.

Yet it could have been Fleet that led shortly afterwards, Charlie Stimson cutting back for Michael Pindy but he sliced his shot horribly and the chance was gone.

Danny Waldren shot wide before Robinson again hit the bar when he perhaps should have hit the target.

In the second half, Theophanous fired a warning shot inches past the left-hand upright. But the opener was forthcoming.

From a corner, Dean Inman flicked a header towards the back post and Robinson stole in to tap home from two yards.

A header from Joel Nouble fizzed past the near post as Thurrock continued to pose a threat.

But despite numerous spells of possession in the final 25 minutes, Julian remained relatively untroubled as Town claimed the points.

Billericay Town: Julian, Evans, Urquhart, Paine, Inman, Deering, Modeste (Watt 72’), Waldren, Theophanous (Cunnington 53’), Robinson, Wheeler (Bricknell 46’)

Thurrock: McNamara, Morgan, Sutton, Dunn (Seaman 80’), Ujah, Christou, Pindy (Brown-Bampoe 82’), Spence, Stimson (Ogunrinde 67’), Winn, Nouble