Education superstars were honoured at the Thurrock Education Awards.

The ceremony was filled with praise and celebration for teachers, support staff, governors, trusts and headteachers from across the borough.

Winners were announced in 14 award categories throughout the evening alongside speeches from education councillor James Halden, Andrew Bowen from DP World and Chris Brookhouse from Greenergy – the two main sponsors.

The evening was hosted by Hannah Mingay, former student of Gray’s Convent High School, and guests were entertained by Thurrock star Ruti Olajugbagbe, the winner of ITV’s The Voice 2018 and former ORTU Gable Hall School student.

Mr Halden said: “The awards are a great way every year to recognise the outstanding work of our education superstars.

“I know I speak for everyone across Thurrock when I say how incredibly proud we are of everyone who was shortlisted for and won an award. Once again I would like to thank our many sponsors for supporting the Thurrock Education Awards, and ensuring that Thurrock remains a shining beacon of hard work.”

Winners included: 
Outstanding early years practitioner – Jade Humphreys, Willow Garden Day Nursery.

Outstanding new teacher, Sponsored – Georgia Keenan, Quarry Hill Academy.

Aspiring leader – Charlotte Boileau, ORTU Gable Hall School.

Innovative and creative teaching – Rhiannon Thomas, The Gateway Academy.

Education support – Kerry Girt, Warren Primary School.

Excellence in English – Samantha Levine, William Edwards School.

Excellence in science, technologies, engineering and maths (STEM) – Jack Arnold, Abbots Hall Primary Academy.

Promoting career pathways and apprenticeships – Kate Merritt, ORTU Gable Hall School.

Governing board – Harris Primary Academy Mayflower Governing Board.

Cross-school collaboration – Amanda Bradley, Beacon Hill Academy.

Teacher of the year in primary education, Sponsored by HW Wilson Ltd.Jade Lauricourt, Tudor Court Primary School.

Teacher of the year –Pantelis Iakovou, Harris Academy Chafford Hundred.

School leader of the year – Louise Coates, Executive Headteacher, East Tilbury Primary School

Outstanding contribution to education – Denise Manson, Little Thurrock Primary School