Nominations for the upcoming local elections have closed, allowing Thurrock Council to official announce the names of all candidations. 

A full list of candidates ahead of the election next month can be found here.

Polling cards have been delivered to eligible electors giving details of their polling station and how to apply for postal or proxy votes.

Polling hours on Thursday, 3 May are from 7am until 10pm. 

Four wards – Chafford and North Stifford, Corringham and Fobbing, East Tilbury and Stanford-le Hope-West – have no local council elections this year.

In each election only a third of all seats in the borough are up for election, which means these two councillor wards will not be contested this time.

Anyone who has not yet registered to vote has until midnight on 17 April to apply. Applications can be made online at or by calling 01375 652 816.

Those who require a postal vote should contact the elections office on 01375 652 816. The deadline for applications to vote by post is 5pm on Wednesday 18 April. Proxy vote applications must be received by 5pm on Wednesday, 25 April.