SPEEDWAY: The Vortex Hammers travelled up to Birmingham on Wednesday evening and came away with the maximum four Elite League points after a thrilling victory by nineteen points The final score was Birmingham Brummies 37 Vortex Lakeside Hammers 56.

It was a solid all round performance by the Hammers with six of their seven riders claiming at least one heat win. The result was never really in doubt despite the Brummies claiming a 7-2 heat advantage whilst using a Tactical Ride in heat ten, which reduced the Hammers lead to nine points. That further reduced to seven points after a Brummies 4-2 in the next heat but there was no stopping the Hammers as they then increased the margin up to nineteen points over the remaining four heats. The Vortex Hammers scorers were: Davey Watt 13+1 (from five rides), Mikkel Bech 11 (4), Adam Ellis 10+2 (5), Richard Lawson 10+1 (5), Peter Karlsson 6+2 (4), Lewis Bridger 5+1 (4) and Ben Morley 1 (3).

The Vortex Hammers Team Manager, Neil Vatcher, said after the meeting: "Credit to all the boys for a huge win, and thoroughly deserved from the start. Spirits are high and we can't wait for Friday when we get back home to take on Leicester ."

Co promoter Jon Cook added: "Our season is truly up and running. It's a pleasure watching this team work together and the performances of all were super. Bring on Friday!"

The action now moves back to the Arena Essex Raceway this Friday as the Vortex Hammers take on the Leicester Lions in Elite League action. It will be the first time that the two clubs will have met as the Lions only moved up into the top flight of Speedway this season. They originally shut down in 1983, the year before the Sport was introduced to the Arena Essex Raceway, but they returned to the Sport at Premier League level at their new venue in 2011.

Included in the Lions team will be former Hammer Peter Ljung, who last rode in this country for the Hammers in 2012. The two teams for Friday are (in alphabetical order):- Vortex Lakeside Hammers: Mikkel Bech, Lewis Bridger, Adam Ellis, Peter Karlsson, Richard Lawson, Ben Morley and Davey Watt (Captain). Team Manager: Neil Vatcher.

Leicester Lions: Max Clegg, Jason Doyle, Patrick Hougaard, Mads Korneliussen (Captain), Peter Ljung, Tom Perry and Simon Stead. Team Manager: Norrie Allan. The action will get underway on Friday at the Arena Essex Raceway with the parade of riders scheduled for 7.45pm with the first of the fifteen heats of racing commencing at 8pm.