Thurrock...... 0

Brentwood Town...... 2

ESSEX SENIOR CUP 3rd ROUND): Brentwood Town booked themselves a prestige home meeting with Colchester United in the last 16 of the Essex Senior Cup thanks to a pair of Alex Read goals which saw them progress past Ryman League Premier Division side Thurrock on their own Ship Lane patch, writes Chris Evans.

Town, currently in 17th position from a tier below in the Ryman Division One North, defeated their Premier opponents who also took the opportunity to promote several members of their burgeoning youth set-up to First Team duties for the evening.

Both clubs will have been comfortable doing so, with the Fleet enjoying an extended run in the FA Youth Cup last year while Town have progressed admirably in the same competition this season.

Both Read’s strikes came after the interval - on 52 and 69 minutes - to send Steve Witherspoon’s men through to a clash with the U’s, who were runners-up in 2011/12.

They displayed some attractive football before the break, and visiting goalkeeper Elliot Justham had to be at his best to prevent a header from Essex Under 18s Rep Team forward Callum Ibe.

Mark Onyenmah’s deflected strike against the outside of the Brentwood upright represented one of Thurrock’s best opportunities of the evening and Town could have moved in front on several occasions prior to half time via Robbie Rees, Abs Thompson and Sam Bantick.

But it was Read who gained the initial advantage for his team, producing an accomplished finish for the first. Later on an excellent Daryl Robson pass sent Read through to add his second.

Thurrock: William Viner, Matt Pooley, Jamie Dicks, Frank Griffin, Ben Walster, Sam Berry, Callum Ibe, Ben Smith, Daniel Okah (Jordan Clark), Daryl McNamara (Robbie Norris), Mark Onyenmah. Unused Substitutes: Lewis Clark, David Hughes, George Light.

Brentwood Town: Elliot Justham, Ryan Doyle, Ted Llewellyn, Daryl Robson, Darren Blewitt (Martyn Stokes), Sam West, Abs Thompson (Farai Tsingano), Sam Bantick, Alex Read, Robbie Rees (James Jaconelli), Abs Seymour. Unused Substitutes: Greg Cohen, Neil Cousins.